Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
BoSmith

Lake Flys

Hello all, I'm relatively new to fly fishing, but have been loving doing it so far. This week I am headed up north for some brookie fishing in a lake. I have never done this before. My go's to so far are wooly buggers, and clousers. Can anyone make any suggestions as to what other flys may produce in such a situation?

Thanks

BoSmith,

I recommend that you do a quick search of this site for the word "stillwater". There was a number of excellent postings for lake and pond (aka - stillwater) type fishing. There are a number of posts that asked people to post photos of their stillwater fly patterns (leeches, chronomids, damsel fly nymphs, dragon fly nymphs, and minnow patterns).

I would recommend any patterns created by the following gentlemen:

Denny Rickards

Here is a link to his website (Look under the section \Products\Flies to see his patterns)

(http://www.flyfishingstillwaters.com/)

Philip Rowley and Brian Chan

Here is a link to their patterns

http://www.superfly.ca/files/sw_fly_brochure.pdf

Cabela's carries a DVD specifically for stillwater fly fishing, which may be helpful to you.

http://www.cabelas.com/prod-1/0043418319805a.shtml

All three of these gentlemen have written books and have videos showing how to fish non-moving bodies of water. I've got a number of them and would highly recommend them.

Good luck fishing.

#6 beadhead weighted olive wolly bugger, #4 muddler minnow, and up to a #2 grey ghost. A montreal wet fly is deadly in lakes here.

No experience, but I've read in numerous places that dragonfly and damselflly nymph patterns are "musts" for lake fishing.