Fly Tying

Pheasant Tail Soft Hackle

Trout flies are evil bs.gif

On my last trip to the local tailwater the water was low and clear. All I had was some size 12's that performed great the weekend before when the water was up a bit. Needless to say we got skunked for the day and I'm guessing that I needed to scale things down a bit. For this weekend I will have some size 16's and these flies are the smallest that I have ever tied. I have messed around with 16's before but never tied anything that I was planning on fishing, so I'm hoping they will do the trick because I was all thumbs trying to tie these guys.

All I can say it's a helluva lot easier to tie on a size 1 hook. My hat goes off to you trout guys who tie smaller than this regularly.

This is one of the flies I did, a Pheasant Tail Soft Hackle and used a tungsten bead. I have never used tungsten beads before and hope that get me down to where I need to be.

Any suggestions on the fly would be greatly appreciated, be honest I can handle a little critisism wink.gif

user posted image

Not bad at all .......for a bass fisherman wink.gif

Keep it up we'll make a troutnut out of you yet bud!

Dont forget to drop down on your tippet size and keep the approch to a minimum for low&clear trout will ....wade slow and keep shadows down and low profile and such. Trout can be very spooky in those conditions.

SD

QUOTE (steeldrifter @ May 20 2004, 10:52 PM)
Not bad at all .......for a bass fisherman wink.gif

Keep it up we'll make a troutnut out of you yet bud!

Oh, the abuse we Smallmouth fisherman have to put up with. That is a very good looking fly.

Will, you did not specifically say. Are you going to be throwing these tiny flies at Trout or at Smallies? Just because it is a small fly does not mean it can't catch a big fish. When I first read your posting, I assumed you were using the small flies to try and catch Smallies. Did I miss something.