Fly Tying
csearsdirk

Hackle options?

Hi. I was wanting to try to tie some H&L Variants and some attractor patterns that are similar in sizes 10-14. I am confused by hackle. I have limited experience using hackle. About the only thing I've used is some grizzly hackle for PMXs that I got from a starter kit I purchased online. I don't seem to have the hackle that I see online for H/L's. What do I need? How do you know what size to use? I don't think I am quite ready to throw down on a full hackle that costs a 100 bucks. To be completely honest, I am not even sure what hackle really is or means. Thanks in advance. This forum is great.

Since you are planning on tying flies only in the #10-14 range I would suggest you purchase a rooster saddle rather than a rooster neck. A saddle usually has feathers with a small range of sizes (ie: 10-14 or 8-12.) A neck (cape) will give you a much greater range of sizes (say from #4 to #30) most of which you can't use for your H&L. You can get a Hebert saddle for about $20, a Metz #2 saddle for $25 (or a Metz 1/2 saddle for $13!) You should also look into Whiting Hundreds (which are guaranteed to tye 100 flies of one size and retail for about $18.) For the H&L you want a furnace. If furnace isn't listed, just get a med brown. Most natural browns are actually furnace anyway.

To determine the right size to use, wrap a feather around the hook shank. The barbs should splay out and extend one and a half hook gaps from the shank. (You should either buy or make a hackle gauge to facilitate hackle sizing.)

As for what a hackle is... Generally it is a feather which is wrapped around the hook shank to yield a collar. In a dry fly the collar is used to float the fly. In a wet fly the collar may represent the legs (and sometimes wings) of the insect.