Fly Tying
ColonelMel

Sealing Foam?

I've been tying a smaller version of Breambusters Predator fly (14 2X hook) for bluegill and it works great! But after a few casts, and a couple of fish, the amount of foam is so small it gets soaked and begins to sink. Has anyone tried sealing foam in some way? I'm thinking the epoxy or varnish or enamel or whatever will simply soak in and make it heavy anyway. Thought I'd ask before beginning to experiment!

I have been making and fishing foam bugs for about 15 years now, and have never had this problem after only a couple of fish, as you state. However, after numerous fish, and an hour or two of use, they do soak up some water. I simply squeeze the water out and keep fishing. A good paste-type dry fly floatant should work. As flytirenoted, it also may be the type of foam you are using. I use the "Fun Foam" available in the craft stores.

perchjerker

I will use Scotch Guard on my foam flies before fishing. It helps keep them clean and floating much longer than anything else I've tried.

I will use Scotch Guard on my foam flies before fishing. It helps keep them clean and floating much longer than anything else I've tried.

I use scotch guard for all my dries. It is a great product.

I'm old school and still like the denser foam found in flip flops. Craft foam is much lighter than flip flop foam, but flip flop foam will never absorb water...

FYI

I was first shown how to tie with flip flop foam by the late Doug Christian in 1984. Doug was a member of the Ozark Fly Fishers of St Louis, Mo. An accomplished fly tier and twice the recipient of the Southern Council’s Fly Tyer of the Year Award (1993 & 2001). Doug was a true gentleman, a tremendous educator, and a consummate fly tyer and fisherman. Doug became well know for his pioneering work with craft foam. Although, he'd have laughed at that "pioneering statement. Here is one of Doug's patterns:

Doug's Craw - http://www.ozarkflyfishers.org/fly/dougcryfish.html