Fly Tying
Trouser Trout

Fishing a Mouse Fly for Trout

I'll be on a 2 day trip this weekend in Northern Michigan to do some fishing. I've never tried using a mouse pattern, but have heard they can yield some pretty good results. Seeing as we're getting later in the summer and all of the good hatches have come and gone, I'll be fishing mostly terrestrials during the day, and I thought I might try to fling a few mice out after dark. Is there anyone out there that has done this? And if you have, how were your results? Any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated as I have never tried this before.

This biggest thing to remember about mouse fishing is that it's all about the "wake". You want a fly that creates a promineint "V"-shaped wake as you swing it across the current on the surface. That's what the fish see, and they follow the wake to the fly.

As far as fly choice, I'd stay away from the very impressive, anatomically correct adorable little mouse patterns with the felt ears, whiskers, eyeballs etc. All the fish is going to see is a silhoutte of the underside of the fly, and by the time it sees that it will have already committed to smashing whatever is creating the wake. A Morrish Mouse is a good pattern - it's just a big gob of deer hair with a piece of thick foam tied in at the bend of the hook, pulled over the top like a shell back and tied down behind the eye with a big "lip" of foam sticking up to make a big wake. In fact, any high-floating bass bug will work--I've "moused" with cork and deer hair poppers and even streamers with big deer hair heads.