Fly Tying
Jasperfish

Copic markers

Hi all,

I have decided to get into copic airbrushing and was wondering what color pens are used. I have checked out tons of videos and no one seems to say what color they are using, they just say red,green, blue but in my search at the stores it is far from that simple. they list the yellowish green, lipstick red and so on. I would love some help because at $8 a pop I really would rather not buy a color that I will not use.

Thanks Eric

I use the Spanish Olive toned down with a bit of warm gray #3.
I use the ink refills in an Iwata airbrush.

From a previous thread.

http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=80225&hl=airbrush

I have had some experience with the Copic system and it worked just as poorly
as the Letraset, ChartPak and Prismacolor airbrush systems. Just not enough control with the nozzle.

Kimo

I was going to buy the Copic system a while back and Kimo talked me out of it and I'm glad he did.

I got what he suggested in the link to the thread posted below and I'm very pleased with. I think I have about $120 into the whole setup.

I use Golden Witch high flow acrylic paInts and acrylic inks .

http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=83190&hl=

I'm still getting use to the brush and getting a feel for it but my poppers are coming out way nicer than they ever have before. I'll take some pictures of my most recent ones and post them later today

Thanks for all the responses, I have already pulled the trigger on a compressor https://www.amazon.com/Airbrush-TC-20T-AIRBRUSH-COMPRESSOR-REGULATOR/dp/B0038D38AA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1468064414&sr=8-1&keywords=airbrush+depot+tc-20t and the copic airbrush. I really like the idea of the true airbrush and the copic refills. I am going to get a hand fill of markers and if it does not seem to work out I can always just get a Iwata airbrush and the refills. I just don't want to buy colors that will not get used.

Thanks for the input so far please keep it coming