Fly Tying
JoeLePaul

Looking for an advanced fly tying book

Hi everyone,

I have been tying flies for 15 years now. My first book was The Flytier's Manual by Mike Dawes and I still love it even today. I also have the Benchside reference for manuals to all techniques. However, what I am looking for, is an advanced book with many different fly patterns (in color images) as well as a "buying list" which materials have been used for these patterns - with less of a focus on technique (similar to most patterns in Dawes' book). Ideally, it would be a book where you could look up the material and then it lists all fly patterns that can be made with this particular material. There are so many materials I rarely find fly patterns for. Mole dubbing for instance. Or blue jay. However, I am explicitly not looking for streamer patterns. Everything else (dry flies, wet flies, nymphs...) is fine.

Do you have any book recommendations for me?

Thank you for your time!

Cheers

Joe

PS: And if you could tell me which are the best vises for flies on small hooks (I do not tie saltwater flies/streamers) on the market at the moment, I would be grateful to you even more - I am looking to update mine wink.png