Fly Tying
DFoster

Fly Vise Maintenance Day

My wife is in Disney World with our Grand Children, leaving me all alone 😮 for 4 days with my tying desk.  The quiet has been wonderful, only disturbed when the dog (who now has a love for steak) needs to go outside for a run.  Taking a break from tying, I decided it would be a good time to perform the annual maintenance on my vise.  I gave it a thorough cleaning.  Removing all the particles that have accumulated and as well as the old oil and grease.  Per the manufacture I applied new white lithium grease to the moving parts and a few drops of gun oil to the tension screw thread.  I've been tying on the HMH for a couple of years now and would guess I've done several hundred flies.  I examined the inside of the jaws with a jewelers loop and he show no wear at all beyond the gun blue wearing off which is to be expected. 

Is anyone else doing the same thing?  I would love to see photos.

IMG_E7802.thumb.JPG.1a75314114c7cf2c77c28d06eb38f8ad.JPG

IMG_E7803.thumb.JPG.d02e993a6a18d5b1e56529d3d55a135c.JPG

I occasionally clean and regrease the barrel where the jaw shaft goes as well as the shaft and the collet threads on my Dyna King pro. One drop of gun oil on the tension lever every once in a blue moon. Which reminds me..... 

Just coming back from the last tying hiatus I noticed my Regal creaked when squeezing the lever that opens the jaws. One drop of oil took care of that, the only maintenance I have ever done to it.

I’ve had my Traveler for almost 25 years and the only thing I’ve ever had to do to it is replace the O-ring around the base of the jaws; I keep 2 on the vise stem, just in case.

Regards
Scott

55 minutes ago, SBPatt said:

I’ve had my Traveler for almost 25 years and the only thing I’ve ever had to do to it is replace the O-ring around the base of the jaws; I keep 2 on the vise stem, just in case.

Regards
Scott