Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
dead_horse_bay_fisher

Matching the minnow

Everbody in fly tying talks about matching the hatch. How about matching the minnow? ;)

I fly fish (I'm new at this so I am using the term "fly fishing" loosely), in a couple of lakes in New Jersey, and when I get a chance, in the salt in Jamaica Bay, NY.

I went to my local lake the other day and, following some good advice from an old timer, checked to see what type of bait fish were hanging around in the shallows BEFORE I started fishing.

I noticed some minnows about 1 to 2 inches long, olive and black colored and in a small school of about 20 fish. I have no idea what they are called.

Does anyone know of a good web site or book that describes bait fish like this? I am interested in Northeast US, and/or Northeast Salt (I know they are different types of fish).

Also,

Most folks seem to use deceivers and Clouser Minnows or some variation as far as I can tell. These flys look nothing like any minnow I have ever seen. I have seen some old time flys that attempt to imitate various type of bait fish for both salt and fresh.

Why don't we try to imitate bait fish the way we imitate insects?

Thanks in advance,

dc