Fly Tying
dawtimothy

What kind of reel and lines to use..beginner

Hey all,

Im a beginner and i would like to know a few things..it doesnt matter the price unless its over $200.00 i want to get a reel that will handle some sockeye ranging from 5-8 lbs. and some coho from 8-12 lbs., also what kind of line do i use i will be fishing mostly streams with medium moving currents that are about 2-3 feet deep for the sockeye and about 4-10 feet deep for the silvers..thanks to everyone hope that was enough information..oh yeah i just got a new rod its a loomis 8wt 9ft..thanks again

Characteristics of a good steelhead/salmon fly reel:

• smooth disk drag that works while wet or icy.
  • avoid click/pawl drag unless it has an exposed flange to palm the spool
  • reasonable backing capacity (100-150 yards of 30lb)
  • spare spools that are easy to change in the field without dropping parts in the river
  • large arbor is nice but not necessary
  • light weight is nice but not necessary

Characteristics of a good steelhead/salmon fly line:

• 8 weight to balance your rod
  • weight forward for shooting line
  • steep front taper to carry weighted flies and split shot
  • floating line is easier to mend
  • flourescent color is easier to see.

If you're going to get one line, get a WF floating line. You can make a floating line sink, but can't make a sinking line float. You can add sink tips or split shot ( :thumbsdown: Using split shot doesn't make you bad, I just think it's a PITA and causes more problems than the one it solves ) to your leaders to get it down. Even a weighted fly with a conehead or heavy eyes will get your fly down if your leader is long enough.