Fly Tying
FlyTyingPhotographer

Multiple Lighting for shooting flies

This is my first attempt at using multiple lighting for shooting flies. I tied up a bunch of Bucktails, Cone Head Leeches and Pike/Musky flies last winter. I wanted to try something I've never done before with flies and that's to use a colored background lit up with a background light and colored gels. These photos were done using a Nikon F100, Nikkor 60mm F2.8 Macro AF-D lens, Tiffen 81A Warming filter, Fuji Provia 100F, a Studio Systems SP920MDLVP Monolight with a snoot attachment to isolate the subject from the background, a background light with a blue color gel and a blue green background. Light readings were taken with a handheld meter and I had a reading of F16 on the subject and F11 on the background. The camera exposure was F16 @ 1/125 sec. in manual mode. I deliberately under exposed the background by one stop to saturate the background color.

These are all 35mm photos. I did a few shots with a Crown Graphic 4 x 5 press camera using Fuji Provia 100F. But, I didn't get those shots developed yet. There's a pic of the Crown at the bottom for those that would like to see it. Anyway, Here's the results.

post-10008-1266205132_thumb.jpg,

post-10008-1266205167.jpg

post-10008-1266205191.jpg

post-10008-1266205301_thumb.jpg

post-10008-1266205339_thumb.jpg

post-10008-1266205370_thumb.jpg

post-10008-1266205411_thumb.jpg

post-10008-1266205431.jpg

post-10008-1266205088_thumb.jpg

post-10008-1266205478_thumb.jpg

Tight Lines !

Rob Valine

www.MySpace.com/RobValine

www.RobValineimages.com

Hi Rob,