Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
yakfisher

1st Ultra Shrimp

This is my first time dealing with epoxy. This is also my first Ultra Shrimp. I think it turned out ok. I learned that you have to wait until the epoxy is in that in between stage where it is not runny or sticky before you apply it or it runs into the legs. I am toying with the idea of tying these for a fly swap on another site. What do y'all think? Here is a pic.

IPB Image

Hi ya Yakfisher,

My honest reply is that you have to decide which way you want the fly to ride. Hook point up or down?

If it's "down", then the antennae and feeler parts have to be swept upwards instead of downwards...I'm afraid the fly the way you tied it will want to flip over or at the very least, want to ride on it's side.

Don't get me wrong!...it'll still catch fish because is just a horny looking fly and really resembles a shrimp...it's just that there are things you could do to help make it more "fishable!"

Kindest regards,

Henry

Oshawa Ontario Canada

duckydoty, here is the link to the recipe I used. http://brianmullaney.com/ultrashrimp.htm I used 5 minute epoxy, but I am probably going to switch to the 30 minute epoxy to give me more time to work with it.

Henry, could you pm me with some of your suggestions to make the fly better?

Joe Thanks for the comment.