Fly Tying
Peterjay

I Give Up!!!!

Like a lot of people with bird feeders, I've been waging a running battle with squirrels for about the last 20 years or so. It seems that no matter what I do, they always find a way around it and end up getting all the food and wrecking the feeder in the process. I've tried suspending the feeder with wire and 100-pound mono stretched between trees, but as soon as they figure out the mechanics, they just chew through it and knock it down. I even tried putting the feeders on aluminum poles and spraying the poles with Pam. That was hilarious to watch for a while but it didn't take long for the Pam to wear off and they'd just shinny up the pole and get down to business. A while ago, somebody gave us a nice feeder that was encased in heavy wire and I thought I had it licked. Like the critter in the picture below, they could grab a bite without wrecking the system. (Hey, everybody's gotta eat)

post-281-1234292588_thumb.jpg

I was feeling pretty smug about it until I looked out my office window this morning to check the seed level and found that one of the little SOBs had knocked off the cover and was down inside the feeder stuffing his gut. At first I thought that this might be the Einstein of the squirrel world until my wife pointed out that he had absolutely no need to be in there in the first place and that if he kept it up, he'd be too bloated to get out. (It was a very tight squeeze as it was) If this is a case of Man vs. Nature, it would appear that nature is winning hands down, at least in this neck of the woods.

post-281-1234292684_thumb.jpg