Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Blackwater Virgil

Need some advice for NE Georgia

I have a buddy who lives literally on the banks of the Chattahoochee River not far from Helen, and I want to tie him some flies for trout, rock bass, striper and white bass, and whatever else he has there. I have the striper/whites part covered, but I live down in SE Ga., so I have no real knowledge of the stuff trout feed on in that particular area. Can anyone here advise me on what I need to tie up for him to catch some fish there. His stretch of the river is very swift and usually shallow, though it's a lot higher than usual right now with all the rains we've had. He knows about the helgramites, and has seen them put to good use, but I don't know a good pattern to look up to make some imitations, so a recommendation there would be appreciated. The ephemera there are a mystery to me, and any suggestions there would be appreciated. Thanks in advance for any help you can offer. We're both retired now, so tying flies keeps us out'a trouble, and out'a jail. Mostly.

What time of year/weather?

I have no knowledge of that area, but there a few universal flies that should work:

GRHE and PTs on a 12-16

Elk Caddis on a 12-16

Zebra midge 14-18

Any ant or hopper

Copper John 12-16

Griffiths gnat 16-20

Maybe a Prince nymph??

Kaufman stimulator

You can't go wrong with minnow imitations, either. Small clousers and streamers will draw strikes from all the fish mentioned.

That said ... some foam hopper patterns. Nothing gets the blood pumping like a fish nailing a hopper on the surface, no matter what kind of fish it is.

What part of SE Ga? I saw you mention the beautiful ogeechee river in your last thread, I'm really close to it. In Jenkins County.