Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  

Tying Contest - Let The Voting Begin

It is now time to begin voting for the 2003 Fly Tyer Of The Year Award!

Voting will end Jan. 27 at 8:00 PM EST

For our first contest we have 19 tyers who have submitted a total of 51 differnet flies and we fell somewhat short of the goal of 50 tyers. I must say that although we did not reach the goal, the quality of each fly makes up for the lack of numbers.

I must say that I am not a professional photographer but I spent countless hours photographing the flies and I did my very best to capture the quality of each one. Some were easier than others. Many of the smaller patterns I was able to capture the smallest detail while the larger flies required that I moved back from the fly to get the entire fly in the picture. I did not play favorties and treated each submissions equally and if you feel I did your fly an injustice, I apologize, because I did my best with each fly submitted.

This contest is set up so that those who have entered a fly cannot vote for themselves and must vote for a different submissions. Let's keep the contest honest and I will be logging information that will be review at the end of the contest just to make sure somebody did not cheat to boost their numbers.

With the lack of submissions it was necessary that we combine some of the species so for anyone who submitted for multipe species you might find two flies in the same category.

There is a total of 5 species categories and each member may vote for each category once. When you have voted for a particular category it will not allow you to vote in that category again. Please take your time and vote for each category.

There is also a category "Best Overall Fly" where you may pick one pattern out of the 51 submitted that in your opinion is the best fly submitted for the contest. I will not tell anyone how to judge these patterns, just vote for whatever qualities that you feel make the best flies.