Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
seattlesetters

Vise Advice (Hee, hee, hee!)

OK...so here's my story...and I need your help. I'm just getting into fly tying and I went out and purchased a 2009 Griffin Montana Mongoose vise...and I don't like it. I'm going to return it and get my money back. Then, I'm buying a Renzetti Presentation 2000 or an HMH Standard (I also love the looks of the Dyna-King Voyager II, but I've seen enough complaints here about D-Ks and small hooks to eliminate them from contention. While I realize some people love D-K vises and have no issue with small hooks, I'm just trying to make it as easy as possible on myself. Plus, my budget is $280, no more, and the Voyager II plus a set of Midge jaws doesn't quite make that limit.).

My question is, which vise? My research indicates both models are terrific for smaller flies "right out of the box" and each should last a lifetime. My budget allows for either, but if the true rotary vise does more, why should I get the HMH?

I will only tie trout flies and 90% of those will be size 12-18. I know this is true because trout are all I fish for (for 32 years!), and I use size 12-18 flies 90% of the time. The other 10% will be split between size 8-10 and 20-22. I fish bamboo rods and simply don't use anything bigger than a #8, and that only occurs during October Caddis time. The 20s and 22s will be nearly as rare as old eyes, feeble skill and physical limitations (I've lost a bit of feeling in my right thumb and forefinger due to a neck injury) stop me at these limits.