Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Montanacur

Royal Wulff Hackle Help

Hey all, wanted to first introduce myself and then ask a question or two. I've been visiting this forum for a while now just reading all the info I can get. I don't have a lot of experience with tying or fly-fishing, but I'm learning as I go, and especially with the help of this forum. I live in Montana, with some of the best fishing country around. I started learning on the Gallatin river in Bozeman, but life got in the way and I quit for a number of years. Getting back into it now on some smaller streams in central MT.

My question revolves around the brown hackle on a royal wulff. Every one that I see in the stores, and/or buy, has very thick hackle (not the amount of barbs, but actual barb thickness). I have a bronze quality, brown half cape from Whiting, and the barbs just seem really thin. I've tried more wraps, using two hackle pieces at once, etc, but I've come to the above conclusion that my hackle is just very thin. Can anyone comment on this, and explain where I need to go from here to get a better finished fly?

Thanks a million!!

In general, saddle hackle stems have always been thinner than the neck hackle stems. Before so many hackle farms started breeding chickens for "dry fly" hackle, you would have to try and find neck hackle for dry flies. One of the first farms to raise top quality hackle chickens was Metz. Their necks contained feathers that were much longer in a given size and made it possible to tie size 20, 22, and smaller dry flies with just one hackle and often you would have some left over. The saddles from Metz were very nice quality, and about 25 to 20 years ago, they were getting birds with feathers small enough for dry flies in the size 10 to 14 range. Many people would tie dry flies with these saddles.