Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
TheRadiant

Getting into dubbing...

Still being relatively new to fly tying, (three years), I have dabbled ever slightly into dubbing bodies. Recently, I began using plumage from the base of marabou feathers to dub bodies and such. This technique works fine, I guess, but lacked the attraction I like in bluegill flies. I use chenille 90% of the time, but my recent foray into dubbing has been fun as hell, to say the least. I ordered some Master-Bright from Cascade Crest as I liked the flash attraction of this particular dubbing. I still need practice building the proper thorax sizes and such, but I feel these examples aren't so bad. Please leave some input.

post-47077-0-76882900-1424489870_thumb.jpg

post-47077-0-34073700-1424490022_thumb.jpg

post-47077-0-18000200-1424490042_thumb.jpg

I'm no expert on dubbing.... have only dubbed one trial fly, but those look good enough to eat (if you're a bluegill). Have you fished them yet? Probably a tad cool right now.

I would suggest much thinner bodies. The center fly is alright, but the other two are too thick for my taste. You are loosing some hook gap with a body that thick at the back end.

Thanks for the advice, Utyer...I try to keep it thin near the gap, but I still need practice. Fla....its freezing over here in Bama right now....I guess its freezing everywhere. If we could just a little warming spell..I would give it a go. I've never had much luck catching any kind of fish in Feb...saltwater or freshwater for that matter.

Those are a good start. As Utyer said the middle on is by far the best.