Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
carolinafisherman

Good smallmouth flies for a beginner

Howdy folks, I am relatively new to fly tying, so I am looking for some relatively easy smallmouth patterns.

I have taken a couple of lessons, and I think that I am pretty good at tying woolly boogers, but where can I go from here?

As of right now, I have tied mostly just wet flies/streamers (woolly boogers, and my own variants of woollies) and I feel like I can now graduate to the next step in smallie tying. Do y'all have any recommendations for good, basic, smallmouth flies that I would be able to tie? (Without spending a fortune on materials)

I appreciate it!

Tight lines

-CF

lead eye ("clouser") minnows. Get a few colors of bucktail such as chartreuse, white, brown, and gray (and whatever other colors you like), some krystal flash in pearl or rainbow, and some inexpensive Mustad 3366 hooks in size 4 and 2.

With woolly buggers and these bucktails, you can catch 99.9% of smallmouths from the surface to the abyss. Give yourself enough different colors, sizes, weights, and techniques, and you will catch them.

It's important to learn to correctly tie with bucktail. There are several good tutorials here and on other websites.

It may be too close to what you're already tying, but from my experience, you can't go wrong with a Sparkle Grub.

Hook: Mustad 3366, Size 4

Thread: 3/0, Color to match body

Weight/eyes: Dumbell eyes, painted or with stick-on eyes

Tail: Chartreuse, black or white Marabou

Body: Estaz or Cactus Chenille to match tail

It achieves much the same effect as the Clouser mentioned (which you should also tie) but has a bit more action.