Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
csearsdirk

deciding what to tie

I live in Colorado and fish about 35-50 days a year and live close to tailwaters, big and medium size rivers. I am by no means an expert, actually far from it, but have a drift boat and can typically catch at least a few fish when I go out, although not always. I really want to start tying now and stock up for the upcoming season, but I am drawing a huge blank on what I should be tying. I haven't been tying for very long. Normally before a day of fishing, I go to the local fly shop and buy 1-2 dozen flies after talking to the experts about what's going on. Now I am simply confused on what I need to be stocking up on and what sizes. A large part of this is due to not having fished for a few months. However, I am really at a loss on where to start. I'm the type of guy that sort of needs a list which motivates me and keeps me on track. So my question to more experienced tiers and fly fisherman is how do you come to decide what you need for the upcoming season. I'd like to have a pretty well rounded fly selection. I realize a better knowledge of my local waters and entomology would help me out, but I'm pretty lacking in that discipline. I guess I am just thinking out loud, and wondering if others have a similar problem.

There are a couple of places to start...you can go with patterns based on what you like to fish or have the most success with - nymphs, streamers, dry flies etc. If you start tying some basic patterns that can used on your rivers, you can eventually tie variations and more difficult patterns. I have found that the Charlie Craven book is a good starting point for patterns that will work on most rivers. I started with the first pattern in the book and worked my way through it picking patterns and flies that will work in the Northeast were I fish. To get through a season you will probably need at least a dozen or so flies of each pattern in several sizes .