Fly Tying

I have two rods made for 7 weight line and one for a 4 weight. I want to use the 4 for trout in streams. One of the 7 weights I want to use for Northern Pike and maybe Walleye in a lake near here.

Here is where it gets iffy: I would like to mess around a little with the other 7 weight. I have heard that you can put a line one larger or one smaller on most any rod. The rod I want to mess around with is an Orvis all-rounder. What I would like to do is put an 8 weight line on it to be able to go a little bigger in the flies I cast. The reason for this is I want to try for Striped Bass in Maine when I go there in June.

Is this absolutely crazy? As you can see, I am a total newbie at this.

The rod is weighted so with head of WF line outside tip the rod is loaded properly. If you put an 8on a 7 and try to have the full head outside the rod tip it will over load the rod and you loose distance. But if you are a newbie or it is windy the 8 will load the rod faster with less out the tip and you can 'feel' the rod loading more easily than if you use the 7. The heavier line will turnover slightly bushier flies but you may lose distance ultimately.

I agree with Piker with one exception. I have built a lot of rods and he quality control and specifications are like fly hooks. They vary from hook to hook. If I were to change lines and tapers I would do it on the Orvis as he quality is probably better, but maybe not.

You may have to experiment a bit. But that's part of the fun. Piker, should I tell him about "common cents". Olaf, that will get you thinking. Love the fur post by the way.

"Common cents" is a system used (particularly by rodbuilders) to verify the actual line rating and action of a rod or blank. The weight standard used is the US "penny" (copper), hence 'common cents.'