Fly Tying
Woodinfliezz

9wt line on 8wt rod????

what are the draw backs possible problems or issues i might encounter trying this set up /???? just curoius because im about to pick up an 8wt rod for striper season and found some orvis line for half off just curious on the issues thanks guys appreciate any and all info

Over-lining generally makes real long casts harder, but real short casts easier. It will also make a fast stiff rod seem more soft. However, results will vary with different rods because there is no standard for determining the weight of a rod. So the marked weight on the rod is a +/- guestimation.

Over-lining generally makes real long casts harder, but real short casts easier. It will also make a fast stiff rod seem more soft. However, results will vary with different rods because there is no standard for determining the weight of a rod. So the marked weight on the rod is a +/- guestimation.

I am not an expert by any stretch so I tread cautiously here. I have heard that over linening by one wt. is sometimes helpful and makes loading the rod easier therefore making casting easier especially if you are casting heavier flies. Furthermore I think you are mistaken about the lack of standards concerning rod weight. I would defer to you or anyone who could somehow point us to some definitive proof to illustrate this point. I have read articles and seen videos that refer to industry standards concerning rod construction so I am a little suspicious of your claim to the contrary. Again, I am not an expert but maybe someone on here or over at the rod building forum could help clear up this question. I would be interested to find out the facts.