Fly Tying
jamesbrock3

First Attempt Dahlberg Diver

So I just recently acquired quality hair for spinning bass bugs. This is my first attempt of a Dahlberg Diver (and Spinning Deer Hair in General). Could you tell me what I need to do in order to improve it? Thanks! I also tried to put a weed-guard on it!

Tied on a 2/0 Gamagatzu B10S Series, using 4/0 Kevlar Thread, all materials were purchased from feathercraft!

post-48975-0-65474700-1405017622_thumb.jpg

I'm gonna say make the head smaller so you have a flat edge on the collar, with almost a 90*angle. Holding it over a boiling pot of water helps make the hair stand out straight.

great looking fly.

spinning hair is one of those, "I ROCK" skills. a whole new world of flies become available with this skill. divers, muddlers, poppers, etc.

i just started tying divers for the first time as well. since bass/pike season has started, my flies have just been getting bigger and bigger. i've gone from tying 1.5" wooly buggers to 6" divers, lol.

one possible tip (i might be wrong); shave the underside of the head so it sits a little lower in the water, for better 'diving' action'.

following for more tips because i really don't know sh!t, lol.

Diver looks good , often times it requires to be fished, then if it doesn't "track" properly, tune it up. I tend to tie in multiple feathers (for kickers) maybe a few strands of Krystal flash. Your tying skills are fine, tie a few , fish em and make corrections. More often I've been coating underside with CCG, helps in durability and keeling