Fly Tying
Stevegud1

Oh boy...

Took my first crack at a dry fly...size 18 BWO...wow, what a disappointment! After watching a ton of YouTube videos, and putting on the magnifying glasses, I did my best, but it doesn't look anything like the storebought one I grabbed for a model to mimic. I am not a novice at tying flies, but i am new at such a small dry fly. Any tips?

you posted this twice, each with no photo attached. If you're trying to post a photo you'll need to use the reply box and select "more reply options". You'll get a new screen that includes instructions for attaching photos.

I'm on a new midge kick. My tying began with bass flies, so large got comfortable. Mostly I had a confidence problem with using small flies.

What I found was that materials changed a bit. Thread use seems to be the big difference for me. I often use just thread for the body of a size 22-24, not bothering with any dubbing. Thread size is important. I used 6/0 on a size 22 royal coachman (my pride and joy) but it took a while to get it. 8/0 or thinner make my life much easier. Also, with larger flies, 12-16, I don't pay much attention to how many "extra" wraps of thread I might take to tweak here and there, but it matters when tying 18 and smaller. Wraps add bulk, and one must be efficient and stingy when applying wraps to tiny flies. Only use the minimal necessary. Finally, use a minimum number of materials. 2 or 3 materials should suffice, many are tied with only 1 material other than thread. 6-material flies will be difficult to tie in size 22 and smaller. The amount of material changes. My pheasant tails in size 12 or 14 use 6 strands of tail fibers. My size 22 only uses 1 or 2.

Everything is just downsized.