Fly Tying
Mattdiy

Help I'm A Beginner!!

I would say if you don't want to outlay a bunch of cash right off the bat being a beginner and all, I would go to Wal-Mart and buy their fly fishing starter kit. Scientific Anglers makes it. It comes with a decent rod, reel, backing, fly line, tippet, maybe a video, and some other stuff. Less than $100 for all that and you can see if you enjoy it.

Another good thing about going inexpensive on your starter rod and reel is that it will really tick you off if you spend 3-500 bucks on a nice flyrod and bust the tip off.

I would definitely recommend inexpensive to start off with.

Buy a custom rod from Steeldrifter, they are simply unmatched, and the prices cant be beat, go to TFF, and click on the midwest custom fly rods and take a look, it will be at the top of the screen or just send steeldrifter a pm and tell him what you want, he is great to deal with and will help you alot!!!! I use one of his rods now, and will get the rest from him!!!!! :headbang: :headbang:

with all due respect, don't do walmart.

all you'll get is junk with no back up support.

if you want a serious answer, you need to tell us where you live, target species, etc. the more info the better.

there is a lot of "budget" equipment out there, but to narrow it down, you'll need to provide the info.

then i recommend you go to a local fly shop (where you can receive help and advice) and practice casting a couple different fly rods. each make is different and only you will be able to tell what feels the best.

good luck

with all due respect, don't do walmart.

The main reason I say that is because of the very likely possibility of going into a fly shop and walking out with more than your spouse budgeted you for. You all know that happens. Heck it still happens today.