Fly Tying
Guest Big E

Fly Noteriety

Guest Big E

The other day I was looking at tying up the Evil Weevil and noticed that this is a relatively new fly originated by Jeremy Davis and it got me thinking. Granted I am a beginner tyer but I do have aspirations. I am starting to not just copy other people's flies but also thinking about different variations of patterns and would hope someday that I could develop an 'Evil Weevil'. Pondering on this brought about more questions and I thought that I would just sound off here and let you much more experience people let me know what the deal is or just confim that I actually put way too much thought into this stuff. So here goes....

Is the normal progression in the skill maturation of a flytyer to change patterns and even develop their own? If you do develop your own pattern, how do you 'protect' it if it gains noteriety? IE how is the Evil Weevil linked to Jeremy Davis or the Copper John to John Barr? Does it require publishing in a flytying book or magazine?

I notice that there are daily submissions to the database and I think most of them are variations or new patterns and I know that there are people quite capable of tying new patterns on here. Do the majority of you aspire to having a fly you developed have noteriety or am I just being, and forgive me for a lack of a better descriptor, a fly noteriety ho.

:dunno: