Fly Tying
Milltown

Fly Tying Materials

So let me give you guys a little introduction of myself, I've been fly fishing for quite a while and have just gotten into tying my own flies. I'm a poor college student and haven't tied many flies or spent any money on fly tying as of yet.

My Grandmother gave me some of what was left of her fly tying stuff from 25 years ago including some material which I have been tying with currently, including a 40 year old jungle cock cape that she originally paid $10 for :D. A lot of it is old Herter's thread and the old wool and floss wrapped around the little pieces of cardboard.

As someone who currently has more time then money, I was wondering what animals and what parts you use and harvest yourself for fly tying and the process involved. I know people who raise pheasants. Also have access to most animals and birds that are hunted or trapped in the state of Maine.

Currently I have a whole deer skin from a deer seasons ago and it still seems to be in pretty good condition. I was wondering what parts I could use from it. I'm also interested in process of making/harvesting my own dubbing from rabbit or deer, but don't really know the process.

My other question is about the differences between elk hair versus deer hair for tying a caddis, my favorite fly.

Thanks for the read and the help.

as far as deer hide vs elk for caddis.. i think its mainly color... you can use hair from nearly that whole hide.. spinning deer hair is fun when you learn. packing deer hair is an art.. watch youtube for a ton of video... you can learn a lot there...

fly fishing in maine can be lots of fun... i fish the coast.. and occasionaly a few rivers..

welcome to the forum..