Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
spiralspey

making biot bodies more durable

I've been tying dry flies with biot bodies for a few years now. They've pretty much replaced dubbed body flies for me, at least for mayfly imitations. My issue is the durability. I put a layer of head cement under the biot before I wrap them to make them more durable, but after a few fish the biot is often getting frayed. I wonder if there is something else I could put under the biot to help it from coming apart that wouldn't add too much weight. I thought about counter ribbing with thin mono, or coating the body with something but that just seems excessive. Any thoughts or suggestions?

Have you tried coating with Loon Flow, CCG Hydro or Deer Creek Thin?
I also lay down a thin film of CA before I wrap the biot.

Kimo

Like Kimo, I use CA glue (brush on) under the biot and that helps. I do not like overcoating the biot, however, because of the effect on flotation and appearance. No reason why you could not use a rib to reinforce, nylon or small wire. Easiest solution is of course to tie more flies.

I'll try some brush on CA. I'm a little hesitant to put anything over the biot because, like you said whatfly, it might effect floatation. I was thinking of trying a thicker head cement, like hard as hull which I use for glossy steelhead flies, but I don't like waiting for the stuff to dry or having it ooze out when I cinch down the biot. The stuff I use now is water based, is quite thin, and absorbs right into the thread underbody. I have no issues with continuing to work on the fly right after using it, and I assume CA would be similar except maybe the brush on type would maybe be a little thicker and squeeze onto every surface and maybe make a better bond?

Hi Spiralspey,