Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Tim Shovel

Flies for Pike and Bass

I am relatively new to fly fishing and know very little in the terms of which flies to use and which flies not to use. I live near several lakes with bass (Smallmouth and Largemouth) and pike. My question is which flies will produce strikes and will catch me fish, if possible could somebody point me in the direction of a video to watch said fly being tied. I know frog and mouse flies work well but I don't know which individual patterns work well. Thank you for your assistance.

Time of the season is probably going to dictate what fly you're going to use. Those fish you mentioned are eating machines most of the time, they aren't going to be too particular as related to a pattern as long as the fly resembles food.

Bait fish and leech imitations. Blues, olives yellow.

Craw dads.

I use a lot of silver, green and orange Murdich minnows, but those are probably in the bait fish category.

You already mentioned top water flies that will work. Bass will hit clousers and wolly buggers willingly. Bead or cone head Brown, olive, black and white #8 & 10.

The New Fly Fisher (out of Ontario) has a lot of videos on YouTube, and often they are going after the same species you are interested in. Should be a good video resource for you.

Sometimes presentation and casting accuracy is more important than the fly, and that goes back to knowing how the water temp and seasons are impacting the fish on the water you're on. If you don't get the fly to the fish, the fly won't matter at all.