Fly Tying
tflyons

High Tying Technique

I am new to forum use so please forgive me if I do something that offends. I hate to apologize before I do something but it will probably be needed later!

I am interested in some of the Enrico Puglisi baitfish flies I am seeing. I looked on line and found instructions that referenced a high tying technique. I could find no instructions on this technique and my tying efforts using EP fibers were not very good.

I have been tying for over twenty years and haven't until lately encountered the high tie technique. If anyone out there has some suggestions I would appreciate hearing from him or her.

I am new to forum use so please forgive me if I do something that offends. I hate to apologize before I do something but it will probably be needed later!

I am interested in some of the Enrico Puglisi baitfish flies I am seeing. I looked on line and found instructions that referenced a high tying technique.

I take it this is something other than tying with the aid of a certain herb - most flies I've seen from that method are a little fuzzy.. :rolleyes:

I am sure someone will be along that can help you, welcome to the forum.

Michael

I tried to find a video but had no luck. It's easier to see than to explain but here's a try. I tie a lot of these. You need to wrap a small bunch of fibers around the thread like a U shape. Then pull the thread tight attaching it to the hook. You do this on the top and bottom. (Man this is hard to explain). when you are done one wrap, both ends of the fiber bunch are pointing outwards. do this down the length of the hook on the top and bottom unitl you have filled the hook. Then take a stiff toothbrush, and brush the fibers out. This gives them volume. Then you trim.

I'll keep looking for a video as words are hard to explain this technique. If anyone can add to this to make it more clear...please do.