Fly Tying
Nostrildamus

Favourite Brook Trout Fly

Hey all, I'm new to tying and I'm heading out after Brookies tomorrow for the first time. I'm wondering what your favourite Brook Trout fly is and how you fish it. Is there anything specific that I should include in any of my flies to heighten the chances of success?

For brookies I am partial to using post wing parachute stlye dries of whatever happens to be reasonably close to hatching, though that is for little guys. What sort of water, or where, will you be fishing?

I will be fishing a lake in the Kamloops area of British Columbia where the brookies grow large. The lake has a marl bottom and very clear alkaline water. It seems as though everyone I talk to leans more towards nymphs or attractors rather than dry flies. The are a great number of caddis flies and Damsels up there which the rainbows love so I was thinking maybe of trying a caddis imitation int he order of a Carey Special or a simple Damsel. I've also read (but not heard through word of mouth) good things about leeches and scuds when it comes to hooking up with Brook Trout. As you can see it is all over the board. It seems as varied as the fly choice for Rainbows.

Thus far I'll be taking:

A bunch of scuds

A bunch of Damsels

A bunch of Carey Specials

And a schwack of leeches/Wooly Buggers.

I'm well armed but I'd like to know what has worked for people in the past. I know each lake is different but is there one pattern which has stood out as a "go-to" fly for anyone?

Lake Brookies are a wholly different animal from the stream fish I usually go for when I head north. The few times I did go after brookies in lakes I had my best luck on whitish bead head scud patterns with an opal Flashabou back, and Jim Andrix Lil' Bugger ( a pattern similar to woolies but using rabbit fur and ostrich on a smaller hook that you can see on the Mad River Outfittrs site).