Fly Tying
Alex C.

Memory Cards

I am looking for a good memory card for an Pentax Optio w30. Right now I'm leaning towards this one

Sandisk 1GB Ultra II (SD) Card

My first question is do you think this is a good one, or should I go with something else? My second question is are all SD memory cards the same size(will they all work with my camera?)

One other question- How many pictures will a 1GB card hold for a 7.1 megapixel camera? I plan on using the video feature a lot too, would I be better off going up to a 2GB or 3GB card?

alex,

i believe cards are a standard size, the world is confusing enough.

i think that brand is a common one. available at a lot of box stores.

1gb is even bigger than what i use at 6 megapix............

imho, it all comes down to how many clams you want to fork out...............and how long you want to take to clean out the card and store them on some other device.

good luck.

camoham

I am by no means an expert on digital cameras, but my cell phone has a digital camera in it, and it takes a "micro" SD card, and that is different from a "mini" SD card, and of course both are different from at least the SD cards that make those "micro" and "mini" by comparison.

So, just any old SD card might not be what you are looking for....except many of the "micro" SD cards I've looked at for my phone do come with an adapter to make them fit in a "standard" SD card reader.

Did I confuse you yet?

The cards are the same size Alex. I just purchased a 1GB card to have in addition to the 2 512MB cards I already have. I do not know for sure as I have not maxed it out but it should hold well over 200 images...not so much on the video obvioulsy. How much video yuo get will depend on the compression qulity and framse per second you record at.