Fly Tying
Homer35805

Rotary Vise, Best Recommendation For First Rotary Vise

ALCON,

Greetings to all. I have been tying for about two years now and I am getting ready to purchase my first rotary vise.

However, the selection of rotary vises is quite daunting, and the price variance is astounding.

So, if you, whomever you might be, could recommend a good starting rotary vise I would appreciate it very much.

My price range is from $0 (Ideal) to $250(ish) (not so Ideal), but flexability is the key they tell me, so send me your recommendations, but remember I am still not Donald Trump wealthy....heck, his housekeeper probably makes more in a year than I do...

Thank you to all who respond.

Homer in Alabama

Try the search function as there is heaps and heaps on vice choices. Unfortunately it comes down to what you like best so that's not too helpful. What I would say is if you have been tying 2 years and plan to tie for many more, $250 may seem a lot but that vice should outlast you. Spend $50 and you may end up spending that again in 2 or 3 years so false economy.

I upgraded to a Jvice (bit more than your budget) and love it. Peak vices always have great feedback. Make sure you look at the hook size you tie 80% of the time and buy the jaws that suit that. You can always add smaller/bigger jaws later.

Try the search function as there is heaps and heaps on vice choices. Unfortunately it comes down to what you like best so that's not too helpful. What I would say is if you have been tying 2 years and plan to tie for many more, $250 may seem a lot but that vice should outlast you. Spend $50 and you may end up spending that again in 2 or 3 years so false economy.

I upgraded to a Jvice (bit more than your budget) and love it. Peak vices always have great feedback. Make sure you look at the hook size you tie 80% of the time and buy the jaws that suit that. You can always add smaller/bigger jaws later.