Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Ragtym

We used to be a nation of marksmen

We used to be a nation of marksmen and now we’ve become a nation of volume fire. In the battle field that certainly has its place, but anywhere else it’s just a lot of noise. I’m an 86 year old veteran. I’m still helping my fellow veterans at the Phoenix Veterans Hospital every Monday,Wednesday and Friday. 
My hunting rifle is a 1913A3 Springfield 30,06. I usually use a crossbow since I’m so old AZG&F took pity on me. My only handgun is a.22 cal Browning bull barrel target pistol. 
I go to the Ben Avery range with my rifle and ammo box and I tell the range guys that I have ammunition older than they are. Remember silver tips?

Thanks Ragtym 

Ragtym welcome to the site. I have a 1903A3 also and enjoy shooting it at the range it is not my primary hunting rifle, but it is a capable backup.  Agree with you in regard to marksmanship and it would not matter what platform you are shooting. You would find the AR platform much easier on your shoulder and wallet at the end of the day, although you must have a stockpile if your still shooting silver tips. My primary hunting rifles are chambered in 30-06 and 300 savage, enough rifle for anything in North America. Hope you enjoy the fly tying side of the forum also.

Welcome Ragtym. 270 for me. If it was good enough for Jack O'Connor.... Backup is a 6.5 Creedmore. I'm vacillating between a 300 Win Mag and a 300 WSM. Decisions, decisions.  I remember silver tips.

I think the reason for so many marksmen in the past was the abundance of country boys that began by shooting tin cans then by hunting squirrels, rabbits, etc. with single shot .22 rifles. Of course starting out with a BB gun in town in the backyard certainly helped me.  I toted that thing everywhere.  After I turned 12 I got a Remington semi-auto for Christmas.  Still have it 57 years later.