Fly Tying
Rkayser

Northwest Indiana- Summer Steelhead?

Long time, no post... I know I've been absent from the site for a while- life got in the way, so on, so forth, and etc... The fishing didn't happen as much as it should have, and my tying fell off as well.

That's not important. What is important, is that I'm a college student again, but with an internship at a steel mill in the area! Working 7am-3pm gives me a lot of daylight to work with, and I had planned on re-wrapping my 8wt and stocking my trout boxes when I wasn't working. But rumors of summer run steelhead have made me rethink those plans, since they've been on my bucket list for a while.

I didn't bring waders, or a net, but I have my 8wt and a tying kit that I use for panfish, bass, and Ozark trout. I have no idea where, when, or how to fish for steelhead, or even why they call them skamania in this area. All I know is I want to catch one on the fly, and that google wasn't much help on specifics...

So does anyone have any advice on chasing these things? Streamers from a beach? Nymphs in a creek? IL? MI?

Or maybe just a good bar to sulk in after I get skunked. Yeah, that sounds pretty good, too.

Rob

my recollection is they are called "Skamania" steelhead because that is the name of the region of the Pacific Northwest where that genetic strain of fish came from. I remember reading about the excitement in the 80s when GL states started stocking them. If I am correct, they tend to return to tributaries earlier in the year and at higher temperatures than other populations of steelheads.

Sorry can't help with any spots to fish.

They are also longer leaner specimens not football shaped usually. They go aerial earlier and oftener too and take skated dries more frequently. They made an initial splash (!) but the runs never got really large in GL watersheds.

Rocco