Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
kimjensen

Peak rotary vise

Hi.

This vise looks interesting. What i'm curious about is i don't see any option to lower the jaws for bigger/smaller hooks to keep the rotation level? Is it not necessary on this vise?

Hi.

This vise looks interesting. What i'm curious about is i don't see any option to lower the jaws for bigger/smaller hooks to keep the rotation level? Is it not necessary on this vise?

Kim,

I have had some experience on the Peak and it is a really solid vise. I have been tying rotary for many years, and I rarely adjust the vise so the hook shank is right in-line with the axis. As long as it spins, you will be able to use the rotary function just fine. Also, on really small hooks you probably won't use the the rotary as mush as on some of the bigger flies.

Sounds great. But i am a bit of a perfectionist so if a vise is called a true rotary, i expect it to rotate the hook around its axis with no problems (small hooks/big hooks).

adjust the vertical position of the hook in the jaws according to hook size for axial rotation

i use a renzetti traveler that allows the jaws to be adjusted and have never had to reposition the jaws one way or the other regardless of hook size. i guess after tying on it for so long i just know where to position the hook bend in the jaws.

You cannot lower the jaws on the peak vise, however as everyone else has said you just adjust the hook. Its quite simple. I dont see the issue with doing that but to each their own. If you want to spend a lot of money vs a reasonable peak get a nor-vise.

adjust the vertical position of the hook in the jaws according to hook size for axial rotation

i use a renzetti traveler that allows the jaws to be adjusted and have never had to reposition the jaws one way or the other regardless of hook size. i guess after tying on it for so long i just know where to position the hook bend in the jaws.