Fly Tying
vjc

Wet fly wings

I need some expert advice. I have been trying to tie winged wet flies like the Ray Bergman flies seen on donbastianwetflies.com. I have used up quite a few mallard quills and flanks and some turkey quills and pheasant tails but I have no decent looking flies yet. Some are probably fishable but the wings are really lousy. I have read a lot of instructional material and looked at a lot of youtubes but cannot produce a good wing.

My question is about the materials themselves. I use quills bought on ebay and bags Hare Line mallard flanks. The flanks are very curved witch makes them difficult to fold. I have also tried cutting slips from them but again, the curve seems to keep them from being symmetrical. Do I need to buy better feathers? Do I need to be more selective with the feathers I have? Are these just too difficult for my experience? Is it just a matter of practice and more practice?

I'm no expert! And i've only tied wet fly wings on march browns, last time was adout a year ago! When i first tied them they looked crap! I was using phesant tail & had to check the film again! I was holding the base of the wings around the shank when i tied them in. Wrong! When i held the wings tight between my thumb & forefinger on top of the shank as i made a couple of wraps to ty them in they looked much better! I hope this helped!