Fly Tying

Green Highlander

IMG_2816.thumb.jpeg.061eb3bf2d5450ac3cbb5034940cc77a.jpeg

After the Lady Amherst I wanted to continue with another classic fly.  I’m not quite as pleased with this one and I forgot the horns but since I’m still new to this so I wanted to share in hope of some constructive feedback before it gets the rip. 

I think the head came out better on this one but  the wing didn’t turn out the way I hoped.  It’s a little short, angled weird and my tips didn’t line up all that well.  If anyone has some tips on getting a better “hump”  on the wing it would be much appreciated.  

One of my take aways is that I should go down in hook size to accommodate my materials, I don’t have the barb length to go to a 3/0 like I thought so likely a size 2. I got loads of those with an eye and the craft store turkey feathers will allow some practice while I source some feathers with longer vanes.  

I also came to realize I need to leave at least the width of the wing past the tie in to avoid issues when tightening.  In the photo below I used a copier so I can layout my slips before marrying.  The wing pictured didn’t survive the tie in(golden pheasant didn’t stick) but the barbs length was the same.   IMG_2810.thumb.jpeg.94ec17efccb9b53ad69ec7bd02f1166c.jpeg
You can see it was only about as long as the hook and I didn’t have enough to tie in leading to the wing being short in the final one.  I’ve saved the failed wings and I’ll tie up some mixed wing versions to fish with. Beginning to see why those are more common. 

Sorry for the rant and thx in advance for any advice.  

Arthur,
First I wanted to send you this web site you might enjoy  www.asfi2024.com  WAY too far for me to attend, but the best classic salmon fly tyers from all over the planet will be there. I don't know how far that Calgary is from wherever you are in Ontario, but nevertheless check it out.
Cheers,
George