Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
smitty53

hook size to fly size

I'm a beginner tyer, and would love to have a side by side chart of a hook size to a fly size. Nothing fancy, something simple. Case in point, if I buy a size 20 fly, it's not the same size as the hook size. So where's the chart?

Thanks everyone in advance.

Ed

A size 20 fly? DId I miss something? I never heard of fly sizes... just hook sizes.

At any rate what I'd suggest is that you go through the database, or youtubes, Google images, etc., and pick out flies you are interested in. Look to see if they specify hook type and size (usually they do). You can tell from the picture if the total length of the fly is, say, twice the length of the hook, etc. That's all you need to know from my humble POV.

Hey Ed...I think I know where you're coming from [maybe not]. I don't believe I've ever seen a chart like you describe. But I can remember thinking:"Why don't they just show me the best way to do this? Why all the different hooks, materials, methods, etc. to do the same fly?"

Flafly's advice is sound...it's general, but sound. YOU will have to pick a recipe to tie say, a wooly bugger, and try it. And then try a different way after you learn. It's frustrating and takes alot of time before you really get a feel for what you think is best. This is why true experts seem to all do things a bit differently [i think].

So, have a look [like Flafly suggests] and get started on what you like and looks manageable. Man, I'm sorry, but it takes time and study...and lots of practice to know how it will turn out. Best of luck...keep tyin' and Cheers, Ed

collect some insects and measure them or google for insect sizes

picture_3101_large.jpg

charts? never seen one

fly pattern recipes usually provide hook sizes for a given insect

If you go to, say, BPS' fly shop and peruse their flies ... you'll see all types and sizes of flies for sale.