Fly Tying
Grillmaster5062

Just getting back into tying

Greetings from Warren, Michigan. Looking to get back into fly tying, after a flooded basement destroyed my hooks, threads and lots of materials. I've been working in the auto industry for over 26 years, but I spent over 15 years working in retail fishing sales in my earlier years. Any suggestions on hooks, threads and miscellaneous materials will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Welcome.  Lot of folks on here fish for bass.  I'll give it a shot with the suggestions.

Hooks-  Gamakatsu B10S,  I also use their straight shanked worm hooks.  I use some VMC spinner bait hooks.  Eagle Claw Aberdeen Crappie hooks,  gold and bronze.  Daiichi 2461. I've been using lot of the Ahrex hooks.  Nothing smaller than a size 6 for any of them.  I also use 1/32 and 1/20 oz jigs

Threads- usually heavy thread 3/0, salt water.  Colors, white, yellow, chartreuse, black and orange.  Clear polyester thread that you can find in craft stores.  I use that mainly for Clousers, Zonkers and bait fish patterns. 

Materials-  Buck Tail, Marabou,  Feathers(saddle hackle and schlappen, Chenille( regular, crystal, sparkle and Estaz), Zonker strips.  Foam sheets, 2 mm, 3 mm and 6 mm.  You can usually find the 2 mm and 6 mm in craft stores.  3 mm I usually order from fly fishing catalogs, but I'm sure you can find it on Amazon.  Foam cylinders.   Foam colors, white, yellow chartreuse, olive and black.  Large Mop pieces.  Silicone, spinner bait skirts or skirt layers, also known as "Sili Legs. 

Miscellaneous-  UV resin, super glue, permanent markers to add color and markings to the patterns.

I'm sure I've forgotten something.

These are some of my bass flies,  top water and subsurface.

DSCF1135.JPG.c3fc8be578833bcb56a412bb334c19ca.JPG

DSCF1129.thumb.JPG.77ea8efa115c564c982416717c76ed4a.JPG