Fly Tying
Sketch

Checking in from Alaska

Greetings all!

I'm checking in from Alaska. Anyone else here from the 'Last Frontier'?

I've been fishing for many years but have restarted my fly fishing efforts after a long break of almost 30 years. I used to fish the fly back in my teen years but put the rod down and put away my fly gear when I pursued my higher education goals and then life just sort of took me further from most fishing efforts. But last year, I almost exclusively used fly gear for all of my Alaskan angling efforts. And what a great year I had. I'm sure it can only get better.

I also am back at the vise. It didn't take long to realize that fly tying has really changed over the last 30 some years! I'm amazed at all the new materials and great tools at the tyers disposal.

We are close to open water here. The temps are warming and my fishing itch is getting worse as the days get longer. Looking foward to getting on the water soon for fish like this:

user posted image

I lost count of the many Kings I did battle with last year, but this was my first ... and biggest of the 2003. This year I hope to not only get in plenty of salmon fishing, but begin learning more about the rainbow fishing that Alaska has to offer. There are some big bows to be caught up here!

And as a side comment, has anyone here ever participated in a 50 state fly swap? The idea is to get one participant from as many different states as possible. Sounds like a great one to be a part of and I'd love to be the Alaskan representative. Anyway, it's just an idea.

- Sketch

We are close to open water here. The temps are warming and my fishing itch is getting worse as the days get longer. Looking foward to getting on the water soon for fish like this:

Does that mean you have 3 hours of daylight now? laugh.gif