Fly Tying
FlaFly

Question: hook choice for streamers

I've been fly fishing since 1958 but when it comes to tying streamers, I'm a rank beginner. A few weeks back I asked about choices of flies for crappies, and came to the conclusion that I need to tie some streamers, charlies, clousers, etc. Regarding streamers, when I look at pics on the database, and on google images, I see some streamers tied on long shank hooks, where the barb is at least an inch or more behind the head. I also recall a discussion some time back about whether fish (crappies in this case) attack the head of a minnow or the tail. See where I'm heading? I also see some tied with short shank hooks, and rather wide gap.

If you were tying a streamer for crappies, what kind of hook would you use? Kind... not brand... generally what shape hook am I looking for? I've got a lot of hooks, some of which may work, or not. Also I'm guessing size 6, or maybe 4. Right?

Clousers, Mylar minnows. do some 8s and 10 as well. Jig heads? Ive tied on curved scuds hooks and added chain link eyes.

Sparce chartuse / white ?

I like long shank 8 or 10 ... maybe a size 6. I tie the streamer type fly so that all the materials stop even with the hook bend ... maybe just a little longer. This puts the hook at the back, where crappie and bream like to hit.

Thanx Mike.... that's what I'm looking for. I have a few of your posted pics (a Charlie and an Attractor) that show what you mean. Are those long shank or medium or what?

The Attractor is tied on 8 or 10 long shank hooks. Eagle Claw brand from Wal-Mart. I like them because they are inexpensive. A side benefit is they are somewhat flexible. If I am hung up, I can put steady pressure on them and they'll straighten enough to come free, usually. I can then re-bend the hook and keep fishing. I can do this two or three times before the hook breaks.

I've used scud hooks, but not for streamers.