Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Rake

What's going on with soft hackles?

I'm guessing someone on this board will have an idea...

I love fishing (and, therefore, tying) soft hackles. Back in the summer, several months before my October trip to the Fork (Henry's) and the Creek (Silver), I ordered a couple of Hun skins. Both were back-ordered with the natural eventually arriving (after my trip, of course); the olive remains on back-order.

While awaiting the original shipment, I placed an order for a natural and a dyed skin through another supplier. Neither of these has arrived. At last check, neither house could tell me when they might receive their orders. In the meantime, I began looking for alternatives and found Clearwater JV hens. I don't know how I'd missed them earlier, but stuff like that that happens, being self-taught and a bit of a loner, I suppose. unsure.png In any event, the JV skins have not been available from Clearwater. Also, while waiting on the hun skins, I did find some hen, but these also took some time to arrive.

I'm really intrigued by the Clearwater hens as they purportedly have feathers suitable for smaller flies which constitute a lot of my tying I do have a starling skin which I've been using for smaller bugs, but this obviously restricts the color of the hackle (do the fish really care?)

So, after much rambling, my question is in the subject line... what's going on???

Mike