Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
burninbriar

New tying table

I'm pretty new to tying flys so I hope this does'nt sound to stupid.

I am building a new table to tie on and could use some advice. A comfortable position for me seems to be with the vice jaw at about the hight of the top of my shirt pocket. My vice is a base mount with the jaw about 8" from the table top. Right now to get the comfortable position on a standard 30" table I have to sit on a phone book and to do away with the phone book I would need my table at about 24" witch seems kind of low. Then of coarse there's always the option of buying a bar stool but I'm afreid with my disabillity I may not last long on a bar stool.

What I would like to know is , is the top of my shirt pocket a good hight to shoot for? (I've heard some like it much lower )

If any one uses a bar stool , does it get excessively tireing ?

I have noticed that some commercially available tables have a center drawer but I am afreid that it would hit my legs with the table so close to them to get the right hight at the vice ( if the hight I chose is right ).Any thoughts ?

Any other tips I might be overlooking would also be apreciated.

I realize that whats comfortable for one person might not be for another but some input from those of you who have been doing it for a while would be helpfull. I will also probably use the table for working on my pipes, I'm a collecter incase anyone is woundering about my screen name.

Thanks , Pete

Ps This will be built into the wall

Just as you said its a matter of personaly preference. With that said though, I personally tie with my jaws about the same height on me, shirt pocket or center of upper chest.

Really without lowering the table then I think and adjustable height chair is about the best option for you.

And welcome to FTF

SD

Would it be possible to cut some of the stem off of your vise to bring it down a little lower?

:dunno: