Fly Tying
Adam Saarinen

Stacked deerhair question?

Thinking of making a bass bug as another fly for a tying competition i'm in & the amount of deer belly hair I have in different colours is limited! Can i use bucktail for just making a coloured circle ring? Then would be a belly deerhair spot in the middle! And if so, should I use the hair from the tip of the tail? Or from the base near the butt? And should i use the hair closet to the tips? Or the hair closest to the tail itself? Any help from the deerhair experts that i know are members on this site is very much appreciated! I have no dying experience & not enough time to learn! Happy Thanksgiving! Adam

Forget trying to use Bucktail but if do(and it can be done)use the end closest to the hide...from the options you listed yes you can use markers to color the hair, I do it all the time.

Best bet for that is once you have it all trimmed is to paint the area you want to color with some thinned flex cement/ Liquid fussion or something. Because the hair wont move around on you so much,it will take the color better and you will be more accurate with Staying in the lines

Post your results...

Thank you Mike West! Not sure if it's what you mean? But i just had a look in my room for a blue sharpie, but i think it's in the shed? Will look tomorrow & cut off a piece of white belly hair still on the skin from a patch, comb it well & colour it blue & give it hopefully enough drying time!

Thank you Mike West! Not sure if it's what you mean? But i just had a look in my room for a blue sharpie, but i think it's in the shed? Will look tomorrow & cut off a piece of white belly hair still on the skin from a patch, comb it well & colour it blue & give it hopefully enough drying time!

I believe he meant to just use the white hair and color it once it's trimmed and finished.

If you dont have belly hair, use the hair found on the part of the bucktail that was connected to the body of the animal.