Fly Tying
Cannonx4

Anyone ever seen a fish like this...

I went out yesterday and put a little time in on SC's delayed harvest section of the Chauga River on a rather cool day, 25 degrees when I left the truck. Pretty chilli for SC standards. I caught this fish that had a funny looking color to it. Sort of... I let you make up your mind! I'll throw in a couple of other pictures of some nice trout. The other side of the fish was normal rainbow colored.

SAM_0395_zpsb22b102c.jpg

SAM_0396_zpsee089105.jpg

SAM_0397_zps03fee7f1.jpg

SAM_0403_zps1283307e.jpg

[url=http://smg.photobucket.com/user/centerfire_223/media/SAM_0404_zpsc3fba4b9.jpg.html]SAM_0404_zpsc3fba4b9.jpg

Quick answer is no. Lots of different pigmentation on rainbows over the years but that is a true fluke.

Short answer - no. Spots all over that thing. Very pretty fish though. And red 'cheek'. Nice trophy. Some kind of cross?

And the last picture - I am no expert on fish identification but - does the body look like a Lake Trout - but the fins look Brook Trout-like????

Nice catches all the same.

BCT

And the last picture - I am no expert on fish identification but - does the body look like a Lake Trout - but the fins look Brook Trout-like????

my thoughts as well....

looks like a checkerboard chimera. google it. weird for sure.

the last pic looks like a nice brookie to me ... ? nothing strange about it as far as I can see.

the last pic looks like a nice brookie to me ... ? nothing strange about it as far as I can see.

They're saying that the back seems to lack vermiculation. I think it's just the way the light is hitting the fish in photo. Nice char, either way.