Fly Tying
78644GaDawg

Record of flies tied, logs, etc

Hi, I’m new to fly tying and want to keep a record of the flies I tie. I would think you would want to know the materials used. Would you want to document what steps you took to tie it?

Are there “logs” that anyone else uses that can be shared to get ideas for my log book?

Are there any templates out there?

How do you keep track of the flies you have tied so they can be repeated?

Thanks in advance

No, I just want to tie flies. There will be someone with something like what you want though.

1 minute ago, SilverCreek said:

What you are talking about is a fly tying pattern.

There are books of fly pattern but these days you can just look up a pattern using a Google search.

For example, look up a parachute adams and you will find:

https://www.google.com/search?q=parachute+adams+fly+pattern&sca_esv=

Not really. I want a record of the ones I tied, not someone else.

Why not just look at your fly boxes of your tied flies?

If you don't know the flies, put labels on the fly boxes.

Print out the pattern and put them in a notebook sorted alphabetically with dividers sorted alphabetically.

It really isn't hard. You are not going to tie that many patterns to start and you are not going to fish that many different patterns. Just by looking at the fly, you will be able identify the materials in the fly.

You are making it way more complicated than it has to be.