Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
FarmChic

beginner fly pattern using horse hair

Hi there! I'm new to this I will probably buy a starter kit and book in a few day but until then is there something I could play around with using things I may already have on hand? I love the idea of using horse hair as we have an overabundance of it. Thanks for your help!

There's not much to it:

Marinaro's Ant

hook: 16-22

body: horsehair- tyed in 2 knobs; the rear larger than the front with a small waist

hackle: bronze-dun; tyed at waist

They make good ribs to segment a fly and they add a bit of translucency to the fly. You can bleach them a bit if you have a sunny windowsill. I find them a lot easier to work than quill bodies as I don't snap them being too heavy handed. I'm just amazed more patterns don't use it. Horse hair is everwhere and free most of the time. You would have thought in the good old days they would have utilised such a widely available item

they did use it in the old days for flies and leaders/tippet...I use it for flies all the time,tail is stronger than the mane though.

Thanks!

I don't know anything about fly tying but I do know horses and much like humans all hair is not created equally. Now if your finding it in your food (yuck!) yeah, a hair is a hair but I would think if you were using it for something important then the texture and strength would matter and I would think bleaching or dying it would change that??

What about those long hairs that grow under the horses chin? It's kinda whiskery, not as long as the mane but more like the mane hair than than the body hair, I bet that could be used for something.

By the way if anyone needs some horsehair I'd be glad to send some your way. I have just about every color you want. I've been looking at our horses in a whole new light now. I'm wondering what I could make with that little chestnut filly's mane? It's a beautiful copper/red.