Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
bassmaster876

better flies

I have found that if I am concentrating on a certain pattern the more I tie the better they look. So practice I would say. I have been tying for about 7 years and I am always learning new techniques. The market keeps me on my toes always creating more material to add the the fly fishing arsenal. Any patterns in particular??

That is a broad question. Far to general to be able to give specific answers to. Over the years I have come to realise that the secret to doing anything well is more attention to detail.

To go beyond that we will need more details. It will take commitment from you. You will need to put in serious practice. Some years ago I started a project to write a book on just this subject. My starting point was someone who had completed a basic fly tying course, perhaps with a club. The end point was Oliver Edwards Flytiers Masterclass. This struck me as the gap in the market. Unfortunately the results are no longer available in print. I have vague plans to do an E.reader version, but it may be years away from really happening.

If you let us know the points you want to work on then we will offer all the help we can.

Cheers,

C.

As with anything ... go back to the basics. You cannot hope to tie a classic pattern if you can't do a simple SHWAPF. If you don't know what a SHWAPF is, you haven't tied enough basic patterns, yet.

I'm sure that's Simple Hairwing With A Primary Feather fly. Or maybe its Soft Hackled Wet And Pretty Fluff fly? :blink:

When I began tying, after A while I realized I wasn't in a race. When I slowed down, my tying began to improve. As mentioned above

paying attention to detail and proportion while tying and tying a number of whatever fly should help. Practice helps if you are doing it

correctly. If you are doing it wrong, it only ingrains bad habits which are harder to break later on.