Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
hcfliesandjigs

fishing for trout

Hey everyone I am pretty new to fly fishing for trout. I have fly fished for a long time but usually use small drys and poppers for bluegills. I have a fishing trip planned for this coming Wednesday to Bennett Springs state park here in Missouri but have no idea what to be doing. It will be a day trip and I will only have a couple of hours to fish before I will have to head back home. Can anybody give me any advice on what to fish with flies wise or set up wise to catch my first trout on a fly rod?

We'll I've never even seen a trout but I can already tell you three things! First you need to tell us the river, talk to the local fly shop to see what's hatching and what flies are catching fish, tie flies to match the hatch and if all else fails wooly buggers, pt&grhe nymphs, and muddler minnows are you're best bet.

Honestly i would keep it simple. Just set yourself up with something simple like a bead head pheasant tail nymph or a gold ribbed hares ear nymph with a strike indicator. Those two basic nymphs that will catch you trout practically everywhere, no matter what hatch is going on. Its a simple set up, and one of the best. Thats what i mostly use, and it has proven successful many times. Good luck!!

An old man I ran into on the river one day told me, "You can never go wrong with a box full of caddis flies." I second this and recommend a few different caddis patterns. The Balloon Caddis is quite an easy dry to tie and is usually my go to fly. Any size from 12 to as small as you dare go. The Dead Caddis is also a really simple but effective dry.

That pheasant tail or hares ear nymphs are always good to have in your box also.

Stimulators are always a great searching pattern for trout, If I'm fishing waters I don't know, ill use a stimulator with a dropper prince nymph or pheasant tail.